Who We Are

Raue House, Offices of Downtown Crystal Lake/Main Street

Raue House, Offices of Downtown Crystal Lake/Main Street

Downtown Crystal Lake / Main Street is a not-for-profit 501(c)3 organization founded by local community volunteers.  Downtown Crystal Lake’s support comes from businesses, organizations and individuals from throughout the Crystal Lake community.

Mission Statement:

To preserve and enhance the Historic Downtown district as the heart of Crystal Lake and provide for a successful business and residential environment that communicates a sense of community pride, heritage, and small town wholesomeness as a lasting legacy for future generations.

What is Main Street?

Main Street is a comprehensive community revitalization program that promotes historic preservation and economic development of a community’s traditional business district.  Downtown Crystal Lake is an accredited member of the Main Street America network.  The four-point Main Street approach involves the following committees:

  • Design – Enhancing the visual image of the Downtown, giving special attention to signage, storefronts and streetscapes.  Accentuating those historic features that make Downtown Crystal Lake truly unique.
  • Organization – Building partnerships with the public and private sectors to develop the untapped potential of Historic Downtown Crystal Lake and create a common vision of uniqueness.
  • Promotions – Enhancing the image of Downtown Crystal Lake as a dynamic and exciting place through special events and festivals.  Communicating to the public the vitality of the area and reinforcing its meaning to all the citizens of Crystal Lake.
  • Economic Vitality – Improving the economic appeal of Downtown Crystal Lake by strengthening its existing assets and diversifying its economic base by recruiting new businesses to fill market voids and working with existing businesses to improve their market share.

Board of Directors
Mary Meyn, President
Brett Rainwater, Vice President
Kathryn Cowlin, Secretary
Kathleen Narusis, Treasurer
Mary Behrens
Sue Dobbe-Leahy
Char O’Meara
Stephanie Ormsby
Brett Rainwater
Ben Volling
Lynne Wickham

Diana Kenney, Executive Director
Email: downtowncl@sbcglobal.net

Jen Martin, Events Coordinator
Email: events@downtowncl.org

Board and Staff Members Front: Diana Kenney, Char O’Meara, Kathleen Narusis, Kathryn Cowlin, Sue Dobbe-Leahy Back: Richard Harms, Ben Volling, Mary Meyn, Brett Rainwater, Stephanie Ormsby, Erin Weingart Note pictured: Mary Batson, Kathi Etten, Brian Fowler